fade in awards

Compete in seven categories & four formats to win! (Screenplay / Teleplay / Short Film / Web Series)

  • SCI FI

The Fade In Awards were established in 1996 to assist talented new writers and writer/directors with getting recognized within the Hollywood community in order to begin a career as a working filmmaker.

In the last 20 years, the competition has done just that:

$15,000 IN PRIZES!


 Dell laptop, $5,000, winning project sent to Hollywood agents, managers & producers.

FIRST PRIZE (in each category):

$1000, script analysis by WGA writer, Waterman fountain pen, winning project marketed to Hollywood agents, managers & producers.

Winners will appear in Fade In, along with press releases to the trades.

Early Bird Deadline

October 31, 2016

Regular Deadline

November 30, 2016

Final Deadline

January 31, 2017


  • Frank Darabont
  • Steven de Souza
  • Scott Frank
  • James Gray
  • Nicholas Kazan
  • Scott Rosenberg
  • Eric Roth
  • David O. Russell
  • Ed Solomon
  • Robin Swicord
  • *Not the competition's judges.

Submit Your Screenplay/Teleplay, Web Series or Short Film!

Welcome to the 21st Annual FADE IN AWARDS, delivering industry recognition, career-making connections and a year's worth of one-on-one mentoring. Established in 1996 by accredited writers and producers, the Fade In Awards have proven, year after year, that when it comes to establishing emerging artists within the Hollywood entertainment community, all it takes is a solid support network to begin your career as a working filmmaker.

Fade In accepts screenplays, teleplays, short films and web series in seven genre categories – action, comedy, drama, family, horror, thriller & sci-fi – from writers and directors worldwide. Fade In then works with its finalists over the course of a year to bring their projects up to professional standards before making key industry introductions. Hollywood's top agents, managers and producers have become accustomed to requesting Fade In's award-winning material.

Executive Producer/Creator/Writer Jon Bokenkamp (The BlackList) calls his decision to enter the Fade In Awards, "The most important moment in my career." "When CBS Studios producer Todd Nelson encouraged me to submit, my inclination was to say, 'No.' I remember thinking there was no way I could afford it. But my script Preston Tylk won and got me an agent. It was huge for me." Bokenkamp went on to work with Angelina Jolie and Halle Berry on Taking Lives and Perfect Stranger, respectively.

Other notable Fade In alumni include Josh Gordon and Will Speck (Office Christmas Party, The Switch, Blades of Glory), Max Mayer (Adam, The West Wing), Matthew Healy (Clay Pigeons) and Frank Baldwin (The Roommate). And yes, ladies, we have female alumni as well!

2013 Grand Prize award-winners Colleen Schukei and Heather Petersen want you to know "The Fade In Awards deliver!" "Of all the contests to enter THIS is the one. We can't say enough about the amazing staff who took us under their wing, and prepared us to enter the professional world of screenwriting. We also received invaluable notes that went through our script LINE by LINE to get it 'market ready.' We have now landed a producer and look forward to taking the next step."

The Grand Prize winner takes home $5,000 and a laptop computer. First-prize finalists in each category receive a thousand dollar cash prize, script analysis and a Waterman pen. All finalists appear in an online edition of Fade In at http://www.fadeinonline.com and have their winning project marketed to buyers and representatives.

Enter today. You're just a submission away from being discovered!